Gold Derby

The inside track on Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and all the award shows.

« Previous Post | Gold Derby Home | Next Post »

Oscars announce new leadership lineup

July 13, 2006 |  5:32 am

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences is shuffling its leadership lineup. Read the press release:

Six new governors, three of them serving for the first time, have been elected to represent their branches on the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Eight incumbent governors were reelected.

Newcomers to the board are Rob Epstein, documentary branch; Mark Goldblatt, film editors; and James L. Brooks, writers. Returning to the board after a hiatus are Paul Mazursky, directors; Mark Johnson, producers; and Bill Taylor, visual effects.

Incumbent governors reelected to another term are Ed Begley Jr. , actors branch; Jeannine Oppewall, art directors; Caleb Deschanel, cinematographers; Tom Sherak, executives, Bruce Broughton, music branch; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, public relations; Jon Bloom, short films and feature animation; and Kevin O’Connell, sound.

Each of the Academy’s 14 branches is represented by three governors who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or reelects one governor each year.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the board are: Kathy Bates and Tom Hanks, actors branch; Rosemary Brandenburg and Albert Wolsky, art directors; Roger Deakins and Owen Roizman, cinematographers; Curtis Hanson and Alexander Payne, directors; Michael Apted and Freida Lee Mock, documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, executives; Donn Cambern and Tom Rolf, film editors; Charles Bernstein and Arthur Hamilton, music; Kathleen Kennedy and Hawk Koch, producers; Sid Ganis and Marvin Levy, public relations; Carl Bell and John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; J. Paul Huntsman and Donald C. Rogers, sound; Craig Barron and Jonathan Erland, visual effects; and Fay Kanin and Phil Alden Robinson, writers.