Gold Derby

The inside track on Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and all the award shows.

« Previous Post | Gold Derby Home | Next Post »

One of the 10 WGA nominees will win the Academy Award for best picture

January 7, 2009 |  4:25 pm

No film has gone on to win the Academy Award for best picture after being snubbed by both the Producers Guild of America and the Writers Guild of America. As all five PGA nominees also scored WGA nominations today, that means this year's top Oscar champ should be drawn from the pool of 10 films in contention for a WGA kudo. The only wrinkle in applying this rule might be "Wall-E," which failed to make the final five with the PGA and was not eligible for WGA consideration. The PGA winner will be announced Jan. 24 while the WGA winners will be unveiled Feb. 7.


That critical darling "Wall-E" might well score a best-picture bid when Oscar nominations are announced Jan. 22. In the past, films snubbed by the producers' and writers' guilds have rallied and scored a best picture nomination. "Ray," "The Pianist," "The Green Mile" and "The Thin Red Line" all did just that, but none of them went on to win. Could "Wall-E" be the exception to the rule and go on to win the big prize?

Nominated for best adapted screenplay:

"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" (PGA nominee) — screenplay by Eric Roth, screen story by Eric Roth and Robin Swicord, based on the short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald;

"The Dark Knight" (PGA nominee) — screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan, story by Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer, based on the DC Comic created by Bob Kane;

"Doubt" — screenplay by John Patrick Shanley based on his stage play;

"Frost/Nixon" (PGA nominee) — screenplay by Peter Morgan based on his stage play; and

"Slumdog Millionaire" (PGA nominee) — screenplay by Simon Beaufoy based on the novel "Q & A" by Vikas Swarup.

Nominated for best original screenplay:

"Burn After Reading" — screenplay by Joel Coen and Ethan Coen;

"Milk" (PGA nominee) — screenplay by Dustin Lance Black;

"Vicky Cristina Barcelona" — screenplay by Woody Allen;

"The Visitor" — screenplay by Tom McCarthy; and

"The Wrestler" — screenplay by Robert Siegel.

Photo: Warner Bros.