Gold Derby

The inside track on Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and all the award shows.

« Previous Post | Gold Derby Home | Next Post »

Seth Rogen, Michael Cera and even Oscar nominees among academy invitees

July 1, 2009 |  9:46 am

Has Judd Apatow moved one step closer to getting a best picture Oscar nod now that five of his favorite actors – Michael Cera, James Franco, Jane Lynch, Seth Rogen and Paul Rudd  – have been invited to join the movie academy? 

Oscars New Members movie news 1357986 As per the press release from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, they are among the "134 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures." This new class of 2009 will bring academy membership to just under 6,000.

Gone are the days when Oscar nominees automatically became academy members. New invitees Casey Affleck ("The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford"), Viola Davis ("Doubt"), Anne Hathaway ("Rachel Getting Married"), Taraji P. Henson ("The Curious Case of Benjamin Button"), Melissa Leo ("Frozen River"), Amy Ryan ("Gone Baby Gone"), Michael Shannon ("Revolutionary Road") and Michelle Williams ("Brokeback Mountain") were all denied the chance to vote for themselves in previous years.

Oscar winners Danny Boyle ("Slumdog Millionaire"), Dustin Lance Black ("Milk") and A.R. Rahman ("Slumdog Millionaire") as well as Oscarcast host Hugh Jackman were also among the invitees.

While there were 166 openings, the various branches of the academy endorsed the admission of only 134 new members. Among the other bold-faced names who have made the guest list this year are Emily Blunt, Brendan Gleeson, Emile Hirsch, James McAvoy, Tyler Perry and Jeffrey Wright.

This incoming roster of talent will be feted by the academy at a reception in September.

Casey Affleck
Emily Blunt
Michael Cera
Viola Davis
James Franco
Brendan Gleeson
Anne Hathaway
Taraji P. Henson
Emile Hirsch
Hugh Jackman
Melissa Leo
Jane Lynch
Eddie Marsan
James McAvoy
Seth Rogen
Paul Rudd
Amy Ryan
Michael Shannon
Michelle Williams
Jeffrey Wright

J.J. Blumenkranz
Konstantin Bronzit
Kendal Cronkhite
Rodolphe Guenoden
Byron Howard
Kunio Kato
Doug Sweetland
Chris Williams

Art Directors
Andrew Ackland-Snow

Matthew D. Loeb
Redmond Morris

Casting Directors
John Papsidera
Bernie Telsey

Russ T. Alsobrook
Anthony Dod Mantle
Henner Hofmann
Claudio Miranda
Rodney Taylor
Mandy Walker

Costume Designers
Deborah Hopper
Louise Mingenbach
Michael O’Connor
Michael Wilkinson

Rachid Bouchareb
Danny Boyle
David Frankel
Rod Lurie
Thomas McCarthy
Tyler Perry
Henry Selick

William Gazecki
Rachel Grady
Rory Kennedy
Scott Hamilton Kennedy
James Marsh
Megan Mylan
Doug Pray


Daniel D.A. Battsek
Steve Beeks
Graham W. Burke
Joe Drake
Erik Feig
Paul Hanneman
Donald P. Harris
Claudia Lewis

Film Editors
Roger Barton
Hank Corwin
Chris Dickens
Elliot Graham
Kathryn Himoff
Leo Trombetta
Brent White
Pam Wise

Live Action Short Films
Reto Caffi
Jochen Alexander Freydank
F. Carter Pilcher

Makeup and Hairstylists
Howard Berger
Mike Elizalde
Louis Lazzara
Gerald Quist

Jeff Danna
Andrew Dorfman
Peter Gabriel
Clint Mansell
A.R. Rahman

Mark Ciardi
Christian Colson
Gordon Gray
Broderick Johnson
Cathy Konrad
Andrew Kosove
James Lassiter
Russell Smith
Paula Wagner

Production Designers

Donald Graham Burt
Michael Carlin
Jane Ann Stewart
Kevin Thompson

Public Relations
Michael D. Camp
Marc Cohen
Megan Colligan
James C. Gallagher
David Kaminow
Sal Ladestro
Maria Pekurovskaya
Elizabeth Petit

Set Decorators

Rebecca Alleway
Peter Lando
Barbara Munch-Cameron

Scenic Artists
Robert Topol

Michael Barry
Derek Casari
Aaron Glascock
Ren Klyce
Peter F. Kurland
Karen Baker Landers
Hamilton Sterling
Deborah Wallach
Kim Waugh

Visual Effects

Christopher Bond
Matthew Butler
Chris Corbould
Rob Engle
Scott Gordon
Hal Hickel
Van Ling
Shane Mahan
Steve Preeg
Tim Webber
Edson Williams

John August
Dustin Lance Black
Courtney Hunt
Howard A. Rodman


If film critics can issue Top 10 lists, why not Oscar?

Oscars expand the best-picture race to 10 films

Oscars revise best song rules yet again

Oscars make room for expanded best picture race by bumping honorary winners

Photo: Los Angeles Times

Get Gold Derby on Twitter. Join the Gold Derby Group at Facebook. Become friends with Tom O'Neil on Facebook. Get Gold Derby RSS feed via Facebook. RSS Feedburner. RSS Atom.