Gold Derby

The inside track on Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and all the award shows.

« Previous Post | Gold Derby Home | Next Post »

Tony Awards add former journo to nominating committee after bumping press from voting

July 22, 2009 | 12:07 pm

Just one week after bouncing almost 100 journalists from voting for the Tony Awards, these top theater kudos have named a former critic to the nominating committee. While Pia Lindstrom has credentials to justify her place as one of the nine new additions to the group of 30 who decide on the Tony Awards contenders, the timing is striking.

Tony Awards Pia Lindstrom spent almost a quarter of a century as theater critic for local station WCBS from 1973 to 1997. More recently, she has served as a board member of the American Theater Wing, the co-presenter of the Tony Awards. And she has a connection to the first Tony Awards, presented in 1947. Her mother, Ingrid Bergman, was one of the first two women to win the Tony Award for leading actress that year for her performance in "Joan of Lorraine." (The other was Helen Hayes for "Happy Birthday").

Among the other eight additions to the nominating committee are 1976 Tony-winning actress Donna McKechnie ("A Chorus Line"), 1993 Tony-nominated actress Kathleen Chalfant ("Angels in America") and 1990 nominated director Susan Schulman ("Sweeney Todd"). Committee members serve for three years, with approximately one-third rotating off each year. Playbill has the full list of current members of the nominating committee here.


Spurned journo to Tonys: 'It's like kicking out a member of your family!'

'Tonys to Press: Drop Dead'

Photo: American Theatre Wing

Get Gold Derby on Twitter. Join the Gold Derby Group at Facebook. Become friends with Tom O'Neil on Facebook. Get Gold Derby RSS feed via Facebook. RSS Feedburner. RSS Atom.