Gold Derby

The inside track on Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and all the award shows.

« Previous Post | Gold Derby Home | Next Post »

Paula Abdul beat rest of 'American Idol' cast in award race

August 5, 2009 | 11:13 am

Paula Abdul may not be returning to "American Idol" this season, but she can take comfort that she trumped the newest judge – Kara DioGuardi – when it came to hauling home showbiz hardware. And she also outdid the rest of the original panel –  Simon Cowell and Randy Jackson – as well as host Ryan Seacrest in the awards derby.

Paula Abdul American Idol Kara DioGuardi Simon Cowell Randy Jackson Ryan Seacrest Entertainment News 2468097 Paula Abdul won a Grammy way back in 1990 for best short-form music video for the track "Opposites Attract." And she also has a pair of Emmy Awards for choreography.

Paula Abdul won an Emmy on her own in 1989 for "The Tracy Ullman Show" and was one of three choreographers on the 1990 "American Music Awards" (along with Dean Barlow and Michael Darrin) to tie with Walter Painter, who choreographed the opening of the Disney-MGM studios. She had been a solo nominee in 1988 for "The Tracy Ullman Show" but lost to Alan Johnson, who handled the dance numbers in the song-filled "Irving Berlin's 100th Birthday Celebration."

Kara DioGuardi was a Latin Grammy nominee for co-writing a 2007 song of the year contender, "Bella Traicion." She shared the nomination with the track's singer, Belinda, as well as Mitch Allan, Ben Moody and Nacho Peregrin. They lost the race to Juan Luis Guerra's "La Llave de Mi Corazon," which also won record of the year. "Bella Traicion" wasn't nominated for that top honor.

DioGuardi has won other kudos. In 2003, she took home a BMI Cable Award for co-writing and performing "Somethin' to Say," the theme to the now-canceled Lifetime network series "For the People," which starred Lea Thompson, Debbi Morgan, A. Martinez and Cecilia Suarez. And she was named BMI's pop songwriter of the year for 2006, as she had accumulated 10 BMI awards in the previous four years for having written the "most performed songs on the radio."

The three original "American Idol" judges are listed among the nominees for the first five bids by the show in the reality competition program Emmy race. They were dropped from the slate both last season and this. "The Amazing Race" has owned this category since it was introduced in 2003.

"American Idol" emcee Ryan Seacrest was also listed as a nominee for those first five losing bids. Last year, he contended in the first Emmy race for best reality show host, losing to Jeff Probst of "Survivor." Seacrest is back in the hunt this year. He won a special class Daytime Emmy for his work on the "Walt Disney World Christmas Day Parade" and picked up a Teen Choice Award in 2007 for his "hissy fit" in "Knocked Up."

Simon Cowell took the Teen Choice Award for TV personality back in 2003 but has lost that award every year since, most recently to Tyra Banks of "America's Next Top Model." In his native England, the National Television Awards gave him a special award in 2007, two years after he lost the race for most popular TV expert to his fellow "X Factor" judge, Sharon Osbourne. And Randy Jackson is listed on various sites as a Grammy Award-winning producer.

Photo: Fox


Britney Spears, Beyonce, Eminem, Lady Gaga vie for MTV VMAs

Kara DioGuardi returning to 'American Idol'

Will 'G.I. Joe' do battle at the Razzies?

Final, complete list of episodes to be viewed by Emmy judges

TCA Awards hail 'True Blood' and (finally) 'Battlestar Galactica'

WGA, other Emmy players blast 'time shift'

Six degrees of Kevin Bacon — the Emmy game version

'Funny People' reunites old friends Adam Sandler and Judd Apatow

Eminem issues 'The Warning' to Mariah Carey and Nick Cannon

'Seinfeld' cast reunites on 'Curb Your Enthusiasm'

Get Gold Derby on Twitter. Join the Gold Derby Group at Facebook. Become friends with Tom O'Neil on Facebook. Get Gold Derby RSS feed via Facebook. RSS Feedburner. RSS Atom.