Gold Derby

The inside track on Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and all the award shows.

« Previous Post | Gold Derby Home | Next Post »

'Mad Men' among Emmy Awards' repeat drama winners

September 20, 2009 |  9:31 pm

Emmy Awards Mad Men Best Drama Series Winner Repeat Entertainment News 2468097

Just like the Emmy Awards' drama series champ "Mad Men," both of last year's drama series lead acting winners repeated for the second seasons of their shows – Bryan Cranston ("Breaking Bad") and Glenn Close ("Damages").

However, the supporting winners on the drama series side were new to the Emmy Awards stage this year. Michael Emerson prevailed on his third consecutive bid for "Lost" and now has a bookend for the guest actor Emmy he won in 2001 for "The Practice." His win in this race means that you still have to go back to 1995/1996 for the most recent repeat champ: Ray Walston ("Picket Fences"). On the female side, two-time lead actress Tony winner Cherry Jones ("The Heiress," "Doubt") took home her first Emmy for her work on "24" as the strong-willed president.

The series finale of "ER" finally won the directing award for Rod Holcomb, who was a nominee for helming the 1994 pilot of this one-time ratings powerhouse. Back then, he lost to Mimi Leder, who directed the gripping "Love's Labor Lost" episode. And Matthew Weiner repeated as drama series scripter for one of his four bids for "Mad Men." Last year he won for a solo credit while he shared this year's Emmy Award with Kater Gordon.

Photo: AMC

Get Gold Derby on Twitter. Join the Gold Derby Group at Facebook. Become friends with Tom O'Neil on Facebook. Get Gold Derby RSS feed via Facebook. RSS Feedburner. RSS Atom.