Gold Derby

The inside track on Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and all the award shows.

« Previous Post | Gold Derby Home | Next Post »

Emmy comedy actresses: Why no recent repeats?

July 20, 2010 |  4:28 pm

Our forums moderator Chris "Boomer" Beachum notes a curious Emmy fact. There's been surprising turnover of winners in the category of best lead comedy actress over the last decade. That's in contrast to other Emmy races that often look like a TV repeat. Consider the other top series acting categories — the winners all repeated over the last two years: Alec Baldwin ("30 Rock"), Bryan Cranston ("Breaking Bad") and Glenn Close ("Damages").

Emmys Tina Fey Toni Collette

However, nine women won best comedy actress over the last nine years. The last repeat was Patricia Heaton ("Everybody Loves Raymond") in 2000 and 2001.

2009 — Toni Collette ("United States of Tara")
2008 — Tina Fey ("30 Rock")
2007 — America Ferrera ("Ugly Betty")
2006 — Julia Louis-Dreyfus ("New Adventures of Old Christine")
2005 — Felicity Huffman ("Desperate Housewives")
2004 — Sarah Jessica Parker ("Sex and the City")
2003 — Debra Messing ("Will & Grace")
2002 — Jennifer Aniston ("Friends")
2001 — Patricia Heaton ("Everybody Loves Raymond")

Photos: Toni Collette and Tina Fey. Credit: Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

Get Gold Derby on Twitter. Join the Gold Derby Group at Facebook. Become friends with Tom O'Neil on Facebook. Get Gold Derby RSS feed via Facebook. RSS Feedburner. RSS Atom.