The Envelope Logo

Gold Derby

Tom O'Neil has the inside track on Oscars, Emmys, Grammys and all the award shows.

« Previous Post | Gold Derby Home | Next Post »

Golden Globe and SAG champs Julianna Margulies and Michael C. Hall are not automatic Emmy winners

July 22, 2010 |  3:21 pm

Beware: Some Emmy-watchers are making a false assumption about the races for best lead actor and actress in the drama series. They believe Michael C. Hall ("Dexter") and Julianna Margulies ("The Good Wife") are shoo-ins to win on Aug. 29 because they've already bagged the Golden Globe and SAG Award earlier this year. Not necessarily so!

Dexter The Good Wife Emmy news-4

Only rarely do the three awards line up, probably because their voting systems vary so much. Winners of Globes and SAG Awards are decided by a popular ballot, but the Emmy is a juried award chosen after a small group of judges views one sample episode submitted by every nominee in the category.

Occasionally, the three prizes do concur – as when James Gandolfini ("The Sopranos") won best drama actor at the Emmys a few months after triumphing at the Globes and SAG in 2000. Ditto, Gillian Anderson ("The X-Files") in 1997 and Edie Falco ("The Sopranos") in 2003. However, all of the following actors failed to repeat at the Emmys soon after sweeping the Globes and SAG: Dennis Franz ("NYPD Blue") in 1995, Anthony Edwards ("ER") in 1998 and Hugh Laurie ("House M.D.") in 2007.

[For the record, 7:35 a.m. July 26: An earlier version of this post misspelled Julianna Margulies' first name as Juliana.]


Can Larry David win the Emmy for best comedy actor?

Emmy prediction: "American Idol" will finally beat "Amazing Race"

Jimmy Fallon can't wait to put the Emmys behind him?

Photos: Hollywood Foreign Press Assn., Screen Actors Guild, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

Get Gold Derby on Twitter. Join the Gold Derby Group at Facebook. Become friends with Tom O'Neil on Facebook. Get Gold Derby RSS feed via Facebook. RSS Feedburner. RSS Atom.

The comments to this entry are closed.


My predicts: This is the year for Julianna and Kyle Chandler.

I agree with Jasmine. Hall was superb last season and should take it home.

Julianna will win. Michael will not. Such a shame for him, for he should win.

Line up the Dexter's Thanksgiving episode up against any show this season and they would have to be deaf, dumb and blind to award anyone else other than Hall. The only close run competition comes from Cranston, but Hall is head and shoulders above the rest this year. One doesn't have to be a diehard fan to realise this.



In Case You Missed It...

Stay Connected:

About the Blogger

Pop & Hiss



In Case You Missed It...